Greater Catonsville Chamber of Commerce

Support Our Sponsorship Plus Members

May 7 - Nov 19
Farmers Market
More info

November 24
Tree Lighting Ceremony
More info

December 7
Holiday Party
More info

January 18
Business Awards
More info

January 26
Networking Seminar
More info

January 31
16th Annual Mega Networking Event
More info

Membership Benefits

Join Now

2017 Outstanding Teacher Awards

On March 30th, the 6th Annual Outstanding Teacher Awards was held at CCBC’s Center for the Arts. Hosted by the Greater Catonsville Chamber of Commerce, the awards recognize the effort, innovation and teamwork that go into making our schools such vibrant and supportive places to learn.

The generous sponsorship of CCBC Catonsville, Charlestown Retirement Community, Coldwell Banker Catonsville, Patient First, Senator Edward Kasemeyer, and McDonald’s Catonsville provide cash and technology prizes to be used in the award winners' classrooms, as well as a wonderful evening in tribute to our schools.

The award winners for 2017 are:

Outstanding Professor
FROM CCBC-Catonsville, 
Greg Weller

Distinguished Service
FROM St. Mark Catholic School, 
Kelly Reichardt, 
Home and School Association President

Teams that Make A Difference - 
FROM Catonsville Middle School

Teachers & Mentoring Sponsors
(Marvin Briscoe, Taylor Dungey, Nicole Lee-Khalif, Garrett Maternick,  Lynetta Parker, Ryan O’Connell)

Outstanding Teacher Awards

For Elementary Schools

FROM Hillcrest Elementary- 
Mary Beth Capka, Grade 2

For Middle Schools

FROM Catonsville Middle
Gwen Everett,
Language Arts/Reading Department Chair

For High Schools

FROM Catonsville High School
Bryan Burns, English/Special Education


For pictures of the ceremony,
visit our Facebook page.

2017 Teacher Awards Nominees



Catonsville Elementary
Kelly Sacks, Grade 4 (FINALIST)
Nicole White, Special Education
Rebekah Kaufman, Librarian

Hillcrest Elementary
Mary Beth Capka, Grade 2 (FINALIST)
Debra Sugarman, Kindergarten
Jenifer Krush, Grade 1

Johnnycake Elementary
Jolene Anticoli, Grade 3 (FINALIST)
Alanna Caplan, Grade 1

Westchester Elementary
Regina Santos, Art (FINALIST)
Samantha Hopkins, Grade 1
Maria Buker, Grade 2

Westowne Elementary
Dawn Ingle, 4th grade teacher (FINALIST)

Woodbridge Elementary
Chara Pitarra, STAT (FINALIST)

St. Mark Catholic School
Ann Johnson, Grade 1 (FINALIST)
Laura Sanders, Grade 1
Megan Peluso, Grade 4


St. Mark Catholic School
Carl Berger, Religion (FINALIST)

Arbutus Middle
Ken Allen, Grade 6, World Cultures (FINALIST)

Catonsville Middle
Gwen Everett, Language Arts/Reading Department Chair, (FINALIST)


Catonsville High School
Bryan Burns, (FINALIST)
English/Special Education
Jill Bartlett, Technology Education
Marie Thrailkill, English/Creative Writing
Yetta Nowak, Social Studies
Andrew Hamilton, Music Teacher

RICA - Baltimore
Bennett Robley, Art & Technology (FINALIST)

Western School of Technology
John Kurtz
Mechanical Construction/Plumbing (FINALIST)

Mount Saint Joseph
Julius Prezelski,
Business & Computer Science (FINALIST)

Mount de Sales Academy
Sister Angela Marie, English & Religion (FINALIST)

Distinguished Service Award

Catonsville High School
Carl Klein, Speech and Debate Coach (FINALIST)

Catonsville Presbyterian Church Family Child Care Center
Liz Fromm, (FINALIST)

Hillcrest Elementary
Kate Jaudon & Mary Beth Capka,
EPIK Kids in Action, (FINALIST)

St. Mark Catholic School
Kelly Reichardt, Home and School Association President, (FINALIST)

Teams that Make A Difference Award

Woodbridge Elementary
Kim Fields, Jessica Hackman, Elisa Weisel, Kenneth Briggs, Rhonda McNair, Craig Shaw
Behavior Support Team, (FINALIST)

Westchester Elementary
Cafeteria Staff - Lisa Costa, manager and Theresa Candeloro, (FINALIST)

Johnnycake Elementary
Tiwari Fonder, Alysha Gordon, Nicole Parravano, Ilene Berman, (FINALIST)
School Counselors/Behavior Interventionist

Catonsville Middle School
Marvin Briscoe, Lynetta Parker, Ryan O’Connell, Nicole Lee-Khalif, Garrett Maternick,
Taylor Dungey, Teachers & Mentoring Sponsors, (FINALIST)

Catonsville High School
Health and Physical Education Department, (FINALIST)
Theresa Richter, Department Chair
Nancy Bauer, Christopher Hastings, Amanda Kaufman, Eric Warm